Moving….  I love moving when it’s over.  Anyone else give me a hand raised “Amen”?  It’s not so much the actual box transportation that’s bothersome to me, but the pack tape ripping, figuring out where everything is you thought was so neatly packed, nailing, hanging, anchoring and assembling that evokes the response, “we’re never moving again!”  (And when reminded you’re renting it’s best to try forgetting the whole experience all together).

My new kitchen is older and dated, but we tried to spruce it up by blazing a path from our house to the IKEA store twenty minutes away (depending on traffic, of course).  You know you’re a frequent shopper when one, you receive a store’s catalog in the mail without solicitation; two, can recite from memory what floor and aisle most catalog products are on; and three, your house looks similar to the catalog just sent. 

We installed two stainless steel racks, magnetic knife and spice holder from IKEA’s kitchen department.  I absolutely love the shelves with hanging baskets and utensils.  This work station is so convenient.Sorry about the dryer sheets on the counter, we have an ant problem in Southern California and I’m trying all food safe stops I’ve heard.

Coffee station with colorful stacking cups from World Market (love the cups and the store, such a cupboard space saver!)Breakfast nook in kitchen entry

Painted half the kitchen Martha Stewart Bedford Gray (lightened 25%)Sewed curtains with fabric from IKEA

Taste of Home Contest Results:  Well, I’m sorry to say I did not win the $25,000 Potluck Recipe Contest.  Thank you to all who voted in support of my Butternut Squash with Sausage Soup recipe! 

All five final recipes will be featured in an upcoming Taste of Home magazine and cookbook next year.  I’ll let you know when they come out.

I did win a large box of all Taste of Home published cookbooks…..

Friday Funny~

“According to a recent article I just read on nutrition, they said eating right  doesn’t have to be complicated. Nutritionists say there is a simple way to tell if you’re eating right. Colors. Fill your plates with bright colors. Greens, reds, yellows. In fact, I did that this morning. I had an entire bowl of M&M’s for breakfast. It was delicious! I never knew eating right could be so easy.”

(source: http://www.jokebuddha.com/Nutrition#ixzz239pqUip7)

