Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

An easy, yet beautiful salad.  If you are looking for a new fruit dish, this one is for you.  I served it over the weekend as a side to my chicken fajitas.  Great with breakfast or brunch as well.  Try other tropical fruits like pineapple, or flavored varieties of honey such as orange blossom.  Simple, delicious and fun.

Refreshing, and healthy afterschool or work snack for you or your family!

mango & kiwi fruit salad

serves 6-8

  • 2 MANGOES, peeled, cored & sliced
  • 5 KIWI, peeled & sliced
  • 2 tsp HONEY, pure or raw
  • 1 LIME, zest & juice

Gluten free recipe

1. Layer mango and kiwi slices in alternating rows on a platter or dinner plate.

2. Zest and juice desired amount of lime over the fruit (may cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate a few hours until serving time, if desired).

3. Before serving drizzle with honey and serve. Serves 6-8.

VARIATIONS: Substitute orange or lemon juice and zest.  Slice pineapple, strawberries, grape halves or other fruit.  Drizzle with a little low-fat yogurt.

NUTRITION INFO PER SERVING (as 6 servings): 90 calories, 23 carb, 3g fiber, 18g sugar, 1g protein

 

Project Time:

Here was my most recent home venture that I loved so much I had to share.  I took two old lamps and spray painted them with metallic chrome from Home Depot, then purchased two fresh, natural linen lamp shades at Target. 

I also sewed the curtains in the background with coral fabric from a local discount fabric store, $10/yard.  A gift from my mom-in-law when she was out visiting.  Cute and budget conscious, that’s what I’m all about!

