Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_5573

Okay, okay so I know this one is really straightforward, but even those of us who love to cook need easy and nutritious options, especially early in the day. Whole grain, healthy fat, protein and fiber – it’s the ideal breakfast. Try with a sliced pear or peanut butter. I love the naturally sweet apple with a touch of cinnamon as a topping instead of typical jam. If you desire a sweeter taste, drizzle lightly with pure honey or maple syrup.

IMG_5568

Delicious and so quick you can whip it up before your morning coffee is brewed. Occasionally, I’ll make it for lunch if I’m in a rush and craving to switch up the normal. Simplicity isn’t overrated, even in cooking (I’ve been pondering this idea as I’m spring cleaning my closets too).

Gluten free option below.

IMG_5572

APPLE ALMOND BUTTER TOAST
serves 1

• 2 tbsp CREAMY ALMOND or PEANUT BUTTER, natural
• 2 slices WHEAT or MULTIGRAIN BREAD (or gluten free bread)*
• 1 medium APPLE, sliced
• 1/8 tsp CINNAMON, GROUND (optional)

*I used Udi’s brand gluten free bread (60 calories per slice).

Toast bread and while warm spread each slice with 1 T. almond butter. Top with sliced apples and cinnamon if desired.

VARIATIONS: Use a sliced pear for apple. Top with a drizzle of pure honey or maple syrup, raisins or chopped nuts. Sub Lundberg brand lightly salted brown rice cakes for bread.

IMG_5565

NUTRITION INFO PER SERVING: 400 calories, 18g fat, 1g sat fat, 50g carb, 11g fiber, 22g sugar, 14g protein

PRINT RECIPE – PDF

